

10-7-08

McCain campaign rolls out Farm & Ranch team

Compiled by Agri-Pulse staff

© Copyright Agri-Pulse Communications, Inc.

With just 28 days left before the presidential elections, the McCain-Palin campaign released a list of farmers and ranchers, as well as congressmen and former USDA and state officials, who have endorsed their ticket. The list includes 12 state Farm Bureau Presidents and representatives of the livestock, sugar and ethanol industries.

As we've reported over the last few weeks, the Obama-Biden campaign has also released the names of several farmers and industry officials who support their initiatives, including six former presidents of the National Corn Growers Association.

"If you look at the issues that I think are important to agriculture and rural America -- energy, trade, taxes, judges that the next president is likely to appoint, and national security -- John McCain trumps his opponent on every issue," said Charlie Kruse, a fourth-generation farmer from Drexel, MO. who co-chairs the McCain-Palin Farm & Ranch Team National Steering Committee.

Kruse currently serves as President of the Missouri Farm Bureau, although the campaign points out that members of the National Steering Committee are endorsing as private citizens and are not acting in an official capacity for their respective organizations.

Co-Chairs of the McCain-Palin National Steering Committee include:

Former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture John Block, Illinois

- U.S. Senator Sam Brownback, Kansas
- U.S. Senator Saxby Chambliss, Georgia
- U.S. Representative Bob Goodlatte, Virginia
- U.S. Senator Lindsey Graham, South Carolina
- U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley, Iowa

Fourth Generation Missouri Farmer Charlie Kruse

Former U.S. Deputy Secretary of Agriculture James Moseley, Indiana

U.S. Representative Adam Putnam, Florida

Steering Committee Members include:

North Dakota Farm Bureau Eric Aasmundstad

Former Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture and State Senator Don Ament

Louisiana Farm Bureau President Ronnie Anderson

Washington Farm Bureau President Steve Appel

Armstrong Farms Owner Jay Armstrong, Kansas

Missouri Governor Matt Blunt

U.S. Representative Roy Blunt, Missouri

U.S. Senator Kit Bond, Missouri

Kansas Farm Bureau President Steve Baccus

Georgia Agribusiness Council President Gary Black

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Commissioner Charles H. Bronson

Kansas Livestock Association President Tracy Brunner

Oregon Farm Bureau President Barry Bushue

U.S. Senator Thad Cochran, Mississippi

U.S. Sugar Corp. Senior VP Robert Coker, Florida

Nevada Farm Bureau President James "Hank" Combs

U.S. Senator Mike Crapo, Idaho

Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels

Pennsylvania Farmer Keith Eckel

U.S. Representative Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri

Michigan State Representative Judy Emmons

U.S. Senator, John Ensign, Nevada

Florida Crystals Corp. Executive VP Pepe Fanjul, Jr.

U.S. Representative Jeff Flake, Arizona

Colorado Farm Bureau President Alan Foutz

U.S. Representative Virginia Foxx, North Carolina

U.S. Representative Sam Graves, Missouri

Harris Farms Chairman and CEO John C. Harris, California

Former Wisconsin Secretary of Agriculture Jim Harsdorf

Nebraska Governor Dave Heineman

Former Delta Pine President & CEO W. Thomas Jagodinski, Tennessee

Former National Cattleman's Beef Association President Mike John, Missouri

U.S. Representative Tim Johnson, Illinois

Pacific Ethanol Chairman William L. Jones, California

Orange County Produce Founding Partner A.G. Kawamura, California

Iowa Farmer Lindsey Larson

Lasseter Tractor Company CEO Willard Lasseter, Georgia

U.S. Representative Tom Latham, Iowa

U.S. Representative Bob Latta, Ohio

Lynch Livestock President and CEO Gary Lynch

Former National Cattlemen's Beef Association President Jan Lyons, Kansas

New Mexico Commissioner of Public Lands Patrick H. Lyons

Former New Hampshire Farm Bureau President Wayne Mann

California Farm Bureau President Doug Mosebar

U.S. Representative Marilyn Musgrave, Colorado

Western Growers Association President and CEO Thomas Nassif

Minnesota Farm Bureau President Kevin Paap

U.S. Representative Joe Pitts, Pennsylvania

National Steering Committee Co-Chair William Richards, Ohio U.S. Senator Pat Roberts, Kansas
Arizona Farm Bureau Federation President Kevin Rogers
U.S. Representative Paul Ryan, Wisconsin
U.S. Representative Adrian Smith, Nebraska
Texas Commissioner of Agriculture Todd Staples
North Carolina Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler
South Dakota Farm Bureau President Scott VanderWal
CropLife America President and CEO Jay Vroom
Former Pennsylvania State Senator Noah Wegner
New Mexico Farm and Livestock Bureau President Michael White
Indiana Farmer Mike Yoder

More details can be found on the McCain-Palin 2008 web site at rural.JohnMcCain.com.

More details on Barack Obama's rural issues at http://www.barackobama.com/issues/rural/

#30