By Agri-Pulse Staff

© Copyright Agri-Pulse Communications, Inc.

St. Louis, MO, Dec. 10 – The American Soybean Association (ASA) Board of Directors confirmed Alan Kemper from Lafayette, IN as president and Rob Joslin from Sidney, OH as chairman Friday. Board members also elected Steve Wellman from Syracuse, NE as first vice president, an office that puts Wellman in line to be ASA president in 2012.

Also elected were Randy Mann from Auburn, KY as secretary, and Danny Murphy from Canton, MS, as Treasurer. Four vice presidents were also elected: Ray Gaesser from Corning, IA; Ron Kindred from Atlanta, IL; Joe Steiner from Mason, OH; and Bob Worth from Lake Benton, MN. These soybean farmer-leaders form the nine-member ASA Executive Committee.

“It’s going to be a bright future for the U.S. soybean industry,” Kemper said in being confirmed as the new president. “ASA will continue to do everything it can to make sure soybean farmers have a viable operation and a good chance of continued profitability on their farmstead. For one, you have the farm bill and how that’s moving forward with the dollars being very limited in Congress today. We need to make sure the farmers have risk management tools to allow them and their younger generations to adequately protect their farm.”

“It’s exciting to look forward to the opportunities that I’ll have to continue to serve ASA and our membership,” Wellman said. “The way I want to approach policy is three steps: coordinate, plan and act. Coordinate the efforts of interested parties, plan strategy and steps we need to take in our policy development, and then act on those first two steps to achieve ASA’s goals.”

Following the elections, committee assignments were announced. Public Affairs Committee Chairman Steve Wellman is joined by committee members Jim Andrew (IA), Charles Cannatella (LA), Todd Dumond (NY), Ted Glaub (AR), Bob Henry (KS), Kevin Hoyer (WI), Ron Kindred (IL), Kevin Marriott (Canada), Lance Peterson (MN), David Poppens (SD), Robert Ross (OK), Curt Sindergard (IA), Jeff Sollars (OH), Lawrence Sukalski (MN), Andy Welden (MI), Wyatt Whitford (NC) and Richard Wilkins (M-A).

The Membership & Corporate Relations Committee Chairman is Ray Gaesser, with committee members Dan Beenken (IA), Ron Bunjer (MN), Sam Butler (AL), Wade Cowan (TX), Kelly Forck (MO), John Freeman (AR), Walter Godwin (GA/FL), Bruce Hall (VA), Tim Goodenough (WI), Eric Maupin (TN), Warren Stemme (MO) and Bob Worth (MN).

Danny Murphy was appointed Chairman of the Trade Policy & International Affairs Committee. Committee members are Dennis Bogaards (IA), Mike Cunningham (IL), Dan Feige (SD), M.D. Floyd (SC), Scott Fritz (IN), Mark Jackson (IA), Randy Mann (KY), Jim Miller (NE), Ron Moore (IL), Barb Overlie (MN), Jason Nelson (ND), Joe Steiner (OH) and Jack Trumbo (KY).

Danny Murphy was appointed Chairman of the Finance Committee, with Dennis Bogaards (IA), Ron Bunjer (MN), Ted Glaub (AR), Tim Goodenough (WI), Bob Henry (KS) and Jeff Sollars (OH) serving as committee members.

The Board welcomed four new members: Eric Maupin (TN), Sam Butler (AL), Walter Godwin (GA/FL) and Wade Cowan (TX). ASA also recognized retiring directors Johnny Dodson (TN), Joseph Mills (AL), Mark Detweiler (GA/FL) and Mike Skinner (TX).

To return to the News Index page, click: