WASHINGTON, Feb. 14, 2013 – The Senate Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee today announced the roster for its five subcommittees, including three Democratic freshman senators serving as chairs.

Sens. Joe Donnelly, D-Ind., Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D., and William Cowan, D-Mass., surprisingly received subcommittee chair positions. Also, committee Republicans chose one freshman senator as a subcommittee ranking member, Sen. John Hoeven, R-N.D.

The members of the Subcommittee on Commodities, Markets, Trade and Risk Management include:

Chairman Donnelly, Sen. Max Baucus, D-Mont., Heitkamp, Sen. Tom Harkin, D-Iowa, Sen. Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio, and Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, D-N.Y.

Ranking member Saxby Chambliss, R-Ga., Sen. Pat Roberts, R-Kan., Sen. John Boozman, R-Ark., Hoeven, and Sen. Mike Johanns, R-Neb.

Members of the Subcommittee on Jobs, Rural Economic Growth and Energy Innovation include:

Chairman Heitkamp, Brown, Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn., Sen. Michael Bennet, D-Colo., Donnelly, and Cowan.

Ranking member Johanns, Hoeven, Sen. Charles Grassley, R-Iowa, Sen. John Thune, R-S.D., and Boozman.

Members of the Subcommittee on Nutrition, Specialty Crops, Food and Agricultural Research include:

Chairman Cowan, Sen. Pat Leahy, D-Ver., Harkin, Brown, Gillibrand, and Bennet.

Ranking member Hoeven, Sen. Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., Chambliss, Grassley, and Thune.       

Members of the Subcommittee on Conservation, Forestry and Natural Resources include:

Chairman Bennet, Harkin, Klobuchar, Leahy, Baucus, and Heitkamp.

Ranking member Boozman, McConnell, Chambliss, Grassley, and Thune.  

Members of the Subcommittee on Livestock, Dairy, Poultry, Marketing and Agriculture Security include:

Chairman Gillibrand, Leahy, Baucus, Klobuchar, Donnelly, and Cowan.

Ranking member Roberts, McConnell, Boozman, Johanns, and Grassley.

Committee Chairwoman Sen. Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., and ranking member Thad Cochran, R-Miss., will serve as ex officio members of all subcommittees.


For more news, visit www.agri-pulse.com.