WASHINGTON, Jan. 21, 2015 - The House Agriculture Committee will have a significant new look on the Democratic side this year.

The committee will have 19 Democrats, down from 21 in the last Congress, and six of those will be new to the panel Four are women. The new members: Ann Kirkpatrick of Arizona, Pete Aguilar of California; Stacey Plaskett, who is the delegate from the Virgin Islands; Alma Adams of North Carolina; Gwen Graham of Florida; and Brad Ashford of Nebraska.

“This is a great group of both new and returning members who care about the wide variety of issues overseen by the Agriculture Committee,” said the committee’s ranking Democrat, Collin Peterson of Minnesota.

Besides Peterson, the returning members are David Scott of Georgia, Jim Costa of Calfornia, Tim Walz of Minnesota, Marcia Fudge of Ohio, Jim McGovern of Massachusetts, Suzan DelBene of Washington, Filemon Vela of Texas, Michelle Lujan Grisham of New Mexico, Ann Kuster of New Hampshire, Rick Nolan of Minnesota, Cheri Bustos of Illinois and Sean Patrick Maloney of New York.