WASHINGTON, Oct. 5, 2015 – The trade ministers from the U.S. and 11 other Pacific Rim nations say they’ve reached agreement on the Trans-Pacific Partnership.

“After more than five years of intensive negotiations, we have come to an agreement that will support jobs, drive sustainable growth, foster inclusive development, and promote innovation across the Asia-Pacific region,” the ministers said in a joint statement released after a weekend of intensive talks in Atlanta.

“The agreement achieves the goal we set forth of an ambitious, comprehensive, high standard and balanced agreement that will benefit our nation’s citizens,” the ministers said.

The nations involved in the pact account for nearly 40 percent of the global economy. Besides the U.S., the TPP countries are: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.

Like what you see here? Agri-Pulse subscribers get our Daily Harvest email Monday through Friday mornings, a 16-page newsletter on Wednesdays, and access to premium content on our ag and rural policy website. Sign up for your four-week free trial Agri-Pulse subscription.


For more news, go to: www.Agri-Pulse.com