WASHINGTON, Jan. 13, 2017 – House Agriculture Committee Chairman Mike Conaway has tapped Rep. Frank Lucas, R-Okla., to head up the panel’s Subcommittee on Conservation and Forestry in the 115th Congress. Lucas was chairman of the Agriculture Committee from 2011-2015.

Conaway, R-Texas, also named the Ag Committee’s vice chairman, Glenn Thompson, R-Pa., to chair the Subcommittee on Nutrition. He’s replacing Jackie Walorski, R-Ind., who moved to the Ways and Means Committee. In the previous Congress, Thompson chaired the Conservation and Forestry Subcommittee.

The chairs of the Agriculture Committee’s other four subcommittee are all keeping their posts from the recent Congress. Austin Scott, R-Ga., has Commodity Exchanges, Energy and Credit; Rick Crawford, R-Ark., has General Farm Commodities and Risk Management; Rodney Davis, R-Ill., is running Biotechnology, Horticulture and Research; and David Rouzer, R-N.C., has Livestock and Foreign Agriculture.

Not an Agri-Pulse subscriber? Get our Daily Harvest email and Daybreak audio Monday through Friday mornings, a 16-page newsletter on Wednesdays, and access to premium content on our ag and rural policy website. Sign up for your four-week free trial Agri-Pulse subscription.

“Our subcommittees will be instrumental in crafting the next farm bill,” Conaway said in a release. “We have to get our work done right, and I am confident these chairmen will do just that. They have each shown excellent leadership skills in chairing subcommittees and are hard-working, respected leaders with a wide range of knowledge and expertise in the agriculture industry.”


For more news, go to: www.Agri-Pulse.com