The Farm Credit Administration board has selected Roger Paulsen to serve as FCA’s chief examiner and director of the agency’s Office of Examination. Paulsen succeeds Robert Coleman, who was named FCA’s chief operating officer in August. Paulsen has been an FCA employee for more than 36 years and served as deputy chief examiner and deputy director of the Office of Examination from 2013 to 2019.

Jeff Moyer

Jeff Moyer

Jeff Moyer has been named the new CEO of the Rodale Institute. He joined Rodale in 1976 as a farm laborer before becoming a manager in 1982. He later was a farm director for 15 years, supervising research and operations. He was later named executive director of the Institute in 2015. 

Renee Munasifi has left the American Soybean Association where she served as the director of government affairs and regulatory policy. She has moved to Nutrien, where she now serves as the director of government/industry affairs handling the trade portfolio.

It’s official: Constance Cullman is now settling into her role as the American Feed Industry Association’s president and CEO. Cullman has been on staff since July 29 and has been working with association’s past president, Joel Newman, in preparation for his retirement on Dec. 31.

Constance Cullman

Tim Belstra and Constance Cullman

Dave Puglia has been selected to serve as the new president and CEO of Western Growers. Puglia will succeed Tom Nassif, who is retiring after 18 years on Feb. 1. Puglia joined Western Growers in 2005 and currently serves as executive vice president, overseeing four departments in addition to the organization’s non-profit charitable foundation and its political action committees.  

The Board of Directors of Ag-West Bio Inc. has appointed Karen Churchill as the organization's next president and CEO, effective Nov. 18. Most recently, she served as the director of research and market support with Cereals Canada. Before that, she served as a quality projects manager at Cargill Malt.

Michael Wilbur will join the board of directors for Wilbur-Ellis. Wilbur is currently the president and CEO of Cavallo Ventures, the venture capital arm of Wilbur-Ellis. 

Jim Farrell of the Farmers National Company (FNC) will retire Dec. 31, and David Englund will succeed him as the new president and CEO of the organization. Farrell has been with FNC since 1986 and has served as president and CEO since 2004. Englund currently oversees the company's farm management sector and supervises hiring and training for the company’s field operations. He will be succeeded by Ken Schmitt, who currently is an area vice president in Iowa. FNC Chief Financial Officer Dave Knutson officially retired in July and has been replaced by senior vice president of financial services Julie Gerken.

Danielle Sikes has left the National Pork Producers Council, where she served as director of congressional relations. She has moved to the Agricultural Retailers Association, where she is serving as director of public policy. 

Today is Josie McLaurin’s first day at USA Rice. She will serve as the government affairs and PAC coordinator. She previously served as a staff assistant for Sen. Mike Enzi, R-Wyo., on the Senate Budget Committee and as an intern for USA Rice.

Dan Black is now the communications director for Rep. Joe Kennedy, D-Mass. He has been Kennedy’s press secretary for the past three years.

Carlos Condarco has been promoted to communications director for Rep. Donna Shalala, D-Fla. He previously served as her press secretary. 

Ben Tabor is now a policy analyst for Rep. Diana DeGette, D-Colo., on the Subcommittee for Oversight and Investigations of the House Energy and Commerce Committee. He previously served as a staff assistant on the committee.

Zach Helder has left the office of Rep. Harley Rounda, D-Calif., where he served as the communications director. Matilda Bress has taken over his responsibilities, serving as the press secretary and covering the agriculture, food and animal welfare portfolio.

Ali Aafedt has left Sen. John Hoeven’s office where she served as a legislative assistant covering the labor, telecommunications, trade, and small business portfolios. Hoeven’s office has not yet hired a replacement. Aafedt has moved to the National Association of Manufacturers as the new trade facilitation policy director.

Tyler Hernandez has left the office of Sen. Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.V., where he served as communications director. No replacement has been hired to fill the position. Contact Kelley Moore, press secretary, for communication inquiries.

Oriana Piña has left the office of Rep. Darren Soto, D-Fla. Piña served as the communications director. Clarissa Rojas has replaced Piña as communications director. Rojas previously served as the press secretary for Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán, D-Calif.

Tim Persico has left the office of Rep. Sean Maloney, D-N.Y., where he served as chief of staff.  Matt McNally succeeds him as the new chief of staff. He previously served as the director of the New York City Office of Federal Affairs.

Natalie Kretzschmar has left Capitol Hill where she served as the press secretary for Rep. Bill Johnson, R-Ohio. She now serves as an account executive for the District Communications Group. 

For more news, go to