AmericanHort has brought on Sara Neagu-Reed as director of advocacySara Neagu-Reed .jpegSara Neagu-Reed and government affairs, based in Washington, D.C. Neagu-Reed joins AmericanHort after a decade of working in various government affairs and legislative roles, most recently as a consultant for the National Council of Agricultural Employers. Before that, she was on the senior government relations staff for the National Farmers Union, was the associate director of federal policy for the California Farm Bureau Federation, a senior legislative analyst for USDA and a legislative assistant at the National Corn Growers Association.

Country Sweet Produce has promoted Prescott Leyba to director of sales and Alexandra Rae Molumby to director of marketing for CSP’s Bako Sweet brand. Leyba was previously the sales account manager and Molumby was the marketing manager. Leyba and Molumby will work together to grow the Bako Sweet brand which includes the building of highly functioning sales and marketing teams.

Michele McMillan is the new director of sales and retail with Ippolito Fruit & Produce. She most recently was with Thomas Fresh as the director of national accounts. She also has 12 years of experience with Sobeys, where she was the national procurement director. 

The Foundation for Food and Agriculture Research selected Saharah Moon Chapotin as the organization’s new executive director. Chapotin currently serves as the executive director of the United States Botanic Garden, a position she has held since 2018. Chapotin worked at the U.S. Agency for International Development for over 11 years, where she held multiple positions, including deputy assistant administrator in USAID's Bureau for Food Security.

Carrie Castille has stepped down as director of the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) a little more than a year after being appointed to a six-year term. She will transition into a new role with the University of Tennessee’s Institute of Agriculture as the new senior vice chancellor and senior vice president. Succeeding Castille is Dionne Toombs, who became the acting NIFA Director on Monday after serving as director of the Office of the Chief Scientist at USDA. Parag Chitnis, NIFA’s associate director of programs, has also departed to become vice president of research and economic development at the University of Wyoming. Longtime NIFA program leader Brent Elrod will step in as acting associate director of programs.

The American Egg Board has named Bradd Bosely as the new director of egg innovation. Bringing 15 years of experience to the role, Bosely most recently served as director of concept and innovation at 7-11 Convenience Stores and Speedway. He has also held roles with McDonald’s and with Meijer as the head of product development and internal manufacturing.

Luke Tomanelli has been promoted to head of North America policy and advocacy with Bayer Crop Science. He was previously the director of federal government affairs. Before his career with Bayer, Tomanelli was the deputy staff director and senior energy policy adviser for Sen. David Vitter, R-La., on the Senate Small Business and Entrepreneurship Committee. 

Vikram Luthar .pngVikram Luthar 

ADM has appointed Vikram Luthar to be its new chief financial officer. Luthar joined ADM in 2004 as vice president and treasurer and most recently was senior vice president and head of investor relations, along with a variety of other senior-level positions. He succeeds Ray G. Young, who has been CFO since 2010 and has also served as the company’s vice chairman since February.  

Lauren Zajicek has been hired by the National Association of State Departments of Agriculture as the new coordinator of communications. Zajicek most recently worked at Texas A&M University, where she was a staff member for four years. Before that, she was a student at Texas A&M where she earned a double major in agricultural communications and journalism and agricultural leadership and development. She is currently working toward her master's degree in agricultural leadership, education and communications and is set to graduate in May 2022. 

For more news, go to