Twelve House Republicans were added to the Agriculture Committee on Monday, including Oklahoma Rep. Frank Lucas, who chaired the panel during development of the 2014 farm bill.

The new members, selected by the House Republican Steering Committee, include two representatives from New York, Nick Langworthy and Marc Molinaro, and two from Texas, Ronny Jackson and Monica De La Cruz. 

Other new members: John Rose of Tennessee, Mark Alford of Missouri, Lori Chavez-DeRemer of Oregon, John Duarte of California, Max Miller of Ohio, Zach Nunn of Iowa and Derrick Van Orden of Wisconsin. 

The new members will join 15 returning Republicans, led by House Agriculture Committee Chairman Glenn Thompson, R-Pa. Democrats haven’t named their committee roster yet. 

The committee is due to write a new farm bill this year to replace the 2018 law. 

 “It’s imperative we hit the ground running through a rigorous hearing schedule, listening sessions, and aggressive oversight. I look forward to working closely with my colleagues as we put forward commonsense solutions that provide certainty for rural America,” Thompson said in a statement. 

The returning members in order of seniority: Austin Scott of Georgia, Rick Crawford of Arkansas, Scott DesJarlais of Tennessee, Doug LaMalfa of California, David Rouzer of North Carolina, Trent Kelly of Mississippi, Don Bacon of Nebraska, Dusty Johnson of South Dakota, Jim Baird of Indiana, Tracey Mann of Kansas, Mary Miller of Illinois, Barry Moore of Alabama, Kat Cammack of Florida and Brad Finstad of Minnesota. 

Only nine of the committee's GOP new roster were on the committee when the 2018 farm bill passed: Thompson, Lucas, Scott, Crawford, DesJarlais, LaMalfa, Rouzer, Kelly and Bacon. 

For more news, go to