Andrew Genasci .jpegAndrew Genasci, San Joaquin Farm Bureau Federation

Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif., who has worked closely with the state’s farm groups on water, labor and other issues, announced Tuesday she will finish her term but won’t run for re-election in 2024. At 89, she is the oldest currently serving U.S. Senator and the longest-serving Senator from her state.

Andrew Genasci has been tapped as the new executive director of the San Joaquin Farm Bureau Federation. He has been with California Farm Bureau for more than 10 years serving as a field representative. 

John Bagan is the new president and CEO of Gelson’s, following the retirement of Rob McDougall who has been with the company for 15 years. Bagan most recently served as Gelson’s chief operating officer. The company also promoted Rich Gillmore to vice president of center store and Sean Saenz to vice president fresh foods while also announcing new title changes in staff leadership. Paul Kneeland is now senior vice president of merchandising and sales and Tim Mahoney is the new senior vice president of operations. Yvonne Manganaro has been renamed to senior vice president of customer and team experience and Clare Bogle is now chief financial and administrative officer. Lastly, Ron Johnson is now chief information and supply chain officer and Tom Frattali has been tapped as senior vice president of group synergies.

Bill Anderson has been tapped as the new CEO of the chemical giant Bayer. The former Roche Pharmaceuticals executive will replace Werner Baumann, who will retire in May after working for the company for 35 years. Anderson is set to take over on June 1.

The Department of Agriculture has appointed two people to senior staff positions. Mia Mayberry has been promoted to chief of staff for Undersecretary for Marketing and Regulatory Programs Jenny Lester Moffitt. Mayberry has been with the department since July 2021, first as the deputy director of external and intergovernmental affairs. She most recently served as the acting deputy assistant secretary for administration. Before coming to USDA, she worked for Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn., as director of outreach and deputy national political director for her presidential campaign. Michele Altemus has been selected as the new senior adviser for external communications with USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service. Altemus previously worked at Jacobson Strategic Communications as a senior communications consultant. She previously served in the Obama-Biden Administration as a senior adviser at USDA and as the chief of staff at the Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement at the Department of the Interior.

Former Rep. Cheri Bustos, D-Ill., joined the American Association of Crop Insurers as an adviser to its board of directors. Bustos was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2012, serving in Congress for five terms before choosing not to run for reelection in 2022. During her time in Congress, she served on the House Agriculture Committee and chaired the subcommittee on General Farm Commodities and Risk Management. In her new role, she will work with former House Agriculture Committee Chairman Mike Conaway, R-Texas, who currently serves as a board adviser.

Alexander Cutillo has joined the International Dairy Foods Association as the legislative and regulatory affairs coordinator. He previously worked at the National Association of Manufacturers where he was a workforce associate for The Manufacturing Institute. 

The National Pork Producers Council has hired Christina Banoub as the new manager of competition, labor, and tax issues. She previously was an analyst for Bloomberg Government. Banoub has a bachelor’s degree in international studies and political science from the University of Michigan, where she also studied Japanese, which she speaks fluently. She previously worked at the Embassy of Japan as a TV producer for one of Japan’s most-watched programs, and she also managed government affairs for a Japanese company.

Sadie Marks.jpegSadie Marks, U.S. Grains Council

Sadie Marks has transitioned to the role of manager of global strategies and trade at the U.S. Grains Council, helping to coordinate programming with the Europe, Middle East and Africa regional office. She previously served as the manager of global programs and will continue to act as the barley sector liaison. Sierra Richey has been promoted to Marks’ former role of manager of global programs, focusing on the Latin America region. Richey previously served the council as global programs coordinator.

Clean Fuels Alliance America has brought on Katherine Reed as the new senior communications manager. For the last six months, Reed was on staff part-time for the Alliance helping to provide meeting-planning services. She most recently served as the director of communications for Friends of the Missouri Governor’s Mansion.

Genera has moved Sam Jackson to the role of chief strategy officer to manage the company’s supply chain, sustainability, and strategic planning activities. Jackson previously was the vice president of business development.

Senate Finance Committee Ranking Member Mike Crapo has announced the Republican staff members who will work on his team. Becky Cole is the new chief economist, and Lincoln Foran is a new policy adviser. Molly Newell will work on the trade portfolio as the international trade counsel, John O’Hare is the GOP committee staff's trade policy director and counsel, Mayur Patel is the chief international trade counsel, and Colin St. Maxens is the international trade policy adviser. Amanda Critchfield will direct the communications department, where Eric Fejer is a deputy press secretary. 

The National Cotton Council announced new officers at its annual meeting in Dallas. Elected as chairman is Shawn Holladay of Texas. Serving as vice chairman is Joe Nicosia of Tennessee. Newly selected as NCC vice presidents were Hank Reichle, Jr., of Mississippi and Raymond Faus of Texas. Re-elected as vice presidents include Sammy Wright of Georgia, Robin Perkins of North Carolina, Kirk Gilkey of California, and Jay Cowart of Oklahoma. Mark McKean of California was also re-elected to be the board’s secretary-treasurer. 

Steve Dyer has been chosen as the Cotton Council International’s new president for 2023. Carlos Garcia has been selected as the new chairman and J. Lee Cromley as the new first vice president. Elected as second vice president is Carlo Bocardo and Gary Adams is serving as secretary with Bruce Atherley as assistant secretary. John C. King, III, has been tapped as the new treasurer. 

Clean Fuels Alliance America’s Scott Fenwick has begun a three-year term on the ASTM International board of directors. Fenwick is the technical director at the alliance and previously served as chairman of the ASTM International committee on petroleum products, liquid fuels and lubricants. He previously spent nearly 25 years in the fuel inspection industry before joining Clean Fuels Alliance America in 2013.

For more news, go to