Roberta Anderson has been tapped as the new president of GLOBALG.A.P. North America, the U.S.-based subsidiary of the firm that sets standards for responsible farming practices. She has been with the GGNA team since 2014, and most recently was the executive vice president. She succeeds Kristian Moeller as president.

Roberta Anderson For Web 9430.JPGRoberta Anderson, GLOBALG.A.P. North America

Sheila Nix has been selected to serve as Vice President Kamala Harris’ chief of staff for the Biden-Harris 2024 reelection campaign beginning in July. Nix currently serves as the chief of staff at the Department of Education.

Benson Hill, a food tech company, has appointed Adrienne "Deanie" Elsner as the interim chief executive officer of the company, succeeding Matt Crisp, who has agreed to resign. Crisp is a co-founder of Benson Hill, and will serve as a consultant to the Benson Hill board for a year to ensure a smooth transition. Elsner most recently served as president, CEO, and director of Charlotte's Web Holdings, Inc., a vertically integrated company that made hemp-derived CBD extract products. Before that, she was the president of U.S. snacks for the Kellogg Co. 

Chris Thompson has been promoted to international standards director at USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service. He previously was the chief of the dairy standardization branch. 

Jack Long has been hired as the new government relations representative for the National Association of Wheat Growers. Long is a recent graduate from Oklahoma State University, where he received a master’s in agribusiness.

House Ag Committee Chairman Glenn Thompson, R-Pa., and Ranking Member David Scott, D-Ga., have announced the members who will reside on an agricultural labor working group. The Republican members are Reps. Rick Crawford of Arkansas, co-chair, Lori Chavez-DeRemer of Oregon, Monica De La Cruz of Texas, Doug LaMalfa of California, Nick Landworthy of New York, David Rouzer of North Carolina, and Derrick Van Orden of Wisconsin. The Democratic members include Reps. Don Davis of North Carolina, the other co-chair, Yadira Caraveo of Colorado, Salud Carbajal of California, Jim Costa of California, Jasmine Crockett of Texas, Darren Soto of Florida and Gabe Vasquez of New Mexico.

suppes-ron.pngRon Suppes, Wheat Foods Council

Scott has also added two new additions to his Ag Committee staff. Clark Ogilvie has returned to the committee as the special counsel. He most recently served as the general counsel on the Farm Credit Administration. Ari Perlmutter has been hired as a policy analyst covering the portfolio for conservation and forestry. He previously worked for Rep. Kim Schrier, D-Wash., handling the agriculture, environment, nutrition and labor portfolio as a legislative assistant. 

Don’t miss a beat! It’s easy to sign up for a FREE month of Agri-Pulse news! For the latest on what’s happening in Washington, D.C. and around the country in agriculture, just click here.

Cogent Strategies has brought on Taylor McCarty and Katie Sansone as vice presidents. McCarty previously was the communications director for House Ag Committee Chairman Glenn Thompson, R-Pa., and Sansone was most recently associate director of digital media and public policy at S&P Global. 

Gary Baise is rejoining Baise & Miller, the firm he helped start in 1996. He most recently served as a principal at OFW Law, where he specializes in Clean Water Act, Clean Air Act, National Environmental Policy Act, Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act, and Solid Waste Disposal Act litigation. 

Kathy Reding Bergren has been hired on to Gevo Inc. as the new director of federal government relations. She was most recently the director of public policy for renewable fuels at the National Corn Growers Association. 

David Armstrong has accepted the gavel from Jim Schweigert as the new chairman of the American Seed Trade Association’s board of directors. Armstrong serves as the president and CEO of Sakata America Holding Co. Dan Foor of DLF North America will serve as first vice chair and Syngenta’s Dave Treinen as second vice chair. Schweigert is the president of Gro Alliance. 

Ron Suppes has assumed the role of chairman of the Wheat Foods Council. Suppes is a wheat farmer from Kansas and has served as a member of the Kansas Wheat Commission since 2003. He was also the chairman of the U.S. Wheat Associates from 2007 to 2008. 

For more news, go to