Bill Anderson has been tapped as the new CEO of the chemical giant Bayer. The former Roche Pharmaceuticals executive will replace Werner Baumann, who will retire in May after working for the company for 35 years. Anderson is set to take over on June 1.

Bill Anderson Bayer.jpegBill Anderson, Bayer

Former Rep. Cheri Bustos, D-Ill., joined the American Association of Crop Insurers as an adviser to its board of directors. Bustos was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2012, serving in Congress for five terms before choosing not to run for reelection in 2022. During her time in Congress, she served on the House Agriculture Committee and chaired the subcommittee on General Farm Commodities and Risk Management. In her new role, she will work with former House Agriculture Committee Chairman Mike Conaway, R-Texas, who currently serves as a board adviser.

The Department of Agriculture has appointed two people to senior staff positions. Mia Mayberry has been promoted to chief of staff for Undersecretary for Marketing and Regulatory Programs Jenny Lester Moffitt. Mayberry has been with the department since July 2021, first as the deputy director of external and intergovernmental affairs. She most recently served as the acting deputy assistant secretary for administration. Before coming to USDA, she worked for Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn., as director of outreach and deputy national political director for her presidential campaign. Michele Altemus has been selected as the new senior adviser for external communications with USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service. Altemus previously worked at Jacobson Strategic Communications as a senior communications consultant. She previously served in the Obama-Biden Administration as a senior adviser at USDA and as the chief of staff at the Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement at the Department of the Interior.

Alexander Cutillo has joined the International Dairy Foods Association as the legislative and regulatory affairs coordinator. He previously worked at the National Association of Manufacturers where he was a workforce associate for The Manufacturing Institute. 

The National Pork Producers Council has hired Christina Banoub as the new manager of competition, labor, and tax issues. She previously was an analyst for Bloomberg Government. Banoub has a bachelor’s degree in international studies and political science from the University of Michigan, where she also studied Japanese, which she speaks fluently. She previously worked at the Embassy of Japan as a TV producer for one of Japan’s most-watched programs, and she also managed government affairs for a Japanese company.

Sadie Marks has transitioned to the role of manager of global strategies and trade at the U.S. Grains Council, helping to coordinate programming with the Europe, Middle East and Africa regional office. She previously served as the manager of global programs and will continue to act as the barley sector liaison. Sierra Richey has been promoted to Marks’ former role of manager of global programs, focusing on the Latin America region. Richey previously served the council as global programs coordinator.

Sadie Marks.jpegSadie Marks, U.S. Grains Council

Clean Fuels Alliance America has brought on Katherine Reed as the new senior communications manager. For the last six months, Reed was on staff part-time for the Alliance helping to provide meeting-planning services. She most recently served as the director of communications for Friends of the Missouri Governor’s Mansion.

Genera has moved Sam Jackson to the role of chief strategy officer to manage the company’s supply chain, sustainability, and strategic planning activities. Jackson previously was the vice president of business development.

Senate Finance Committee Ranking Member Mike Crapo has announced the Republican staff members who will work on his team. Becky Cole is the new chief economist, and Lincoln Foran is a new policy adviser. Molly Newell will work on the trade portfolio as the international trade counsel, John O’Hare is the GOP committee staff's trade policy director and counsel, Mayur Patel is the chief international trade counsel, and Colin St. Maxens is the international trade policy adviser. Amanda Critchfield will direct the communications department, where Eric Fejer is a deputy press secretary. 

Jackson Suarez has joined Rep. Morgan Luttrell’s, R-Texas, office as a legislative assistant covering the agriculture portfolio. He previously was a legislative correspondent and press assistant for Rep. Jake Ellzey, R-Texas. 

Kim LaFleur has been sworn in as the new president of the National Association of Conservation Districts. She's the first woman to hold the position and succeeds Michael Crowder, who wrapped up his two-year term at the organization's annual meeting on Tuesday.

IMG-6230 small.pngKim LaFleur, NACD

The National Cotton Council announced new officers at its annual meeting in Dallas. Elected as chairman is Shawn Holladay of Texas. Serving as vice chairman is Joe Nicosia of Tennessee. Newly selected as NCC vice presidents were Hank Reichle, Jr., of Mississippi and Raymond Faus of Texas. Re-elected as vice presidents include Sammy Wright of Georgia, Robin Perkins of North Carolina, Kirk Gilkey of California, and Jay Cowart of Oklahoma. Mark McKean of California was also re-elected to be the board’s secretary-treasurer. 

The American Cotton Producers of the National Cotton Council has re-elected Nathan Reed as chairman. He served in that position in 2022 after serving as a vice chairman. Newly elected as vice chairmen include Adam Hatley, Doyle Schniers, and Matt Coley.

Steve Dyer has been chosen as the Cotton Council International’s new president for 2023. Carlos Garcia has been selected as the new chairman and J. Lee Cromley as the new first vice president. Elected as second vice president is Carlo Bocardo and Gary Adams is serving as secretary with Bruce Atherley as assistant secretary. John C. King, III, has been tapped as the new treasurer. 

Farm Credit of the Virginias has tapped new board officers for 2023. Former vice chairperson, James “Jamie” Kinsey, was elected to serve as chairperson and succeeds Don Reese in the role. Kevin Craun has been selected as the new vice chairperson.

Clean Fuels Alliance America’s Scott Fenwick has begun a three-year term on the ASTM International board of directors. Fenwick is the technical director at the alliance and previously served as chairman of the ASTM International committee on petroleum products, liquid fuels and lubricants. He previously spent nearly 25 years in the fuel inspection industry before joining Clean Fuels Alliance America in 2013.

John Rettler has been reelected to the presidency of the FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative’s board of directors. Steve Brock was reelected as vice president, as was Bob Dietzel as treasurer. Stephanie Hughes has been selected as the new secretary.

Ed Mullins has retired from Prairie Farms Dairy after 42 years with the company. His career with Prairie Farms started in 1980, and he held numerous leadership positions including serving as CEO and executive vice president from 2006-2021. In late 2021, Mullins announced he would step down from the helm to assume a new role as senior executive officer in 2022. He officially retired from the company at the end of last year. 

For more news, go to