WASHINGTON, June 26, 2014 – Rep. Cheri Bustos, D-Ill., a member of the House Agriculture Committee, along with Reps. Dave Loebsack, D-Iowa, and Bruce Braley, D-Iowa, today introduced the bipartisan, five-year Senate farm bill in the House after the House failed last week to pass a farm bill to move on to a conference committee with the Senate.     

On June 10, the Senate passed a five-year farm bill on a strong bipartisan basis. The legislation introduced today (H.R. 2498) has the exact text as the Senate bill. Bustos, Loebsack, and Braley all supported the House legislation last week to move the farm bill forward.

“Our entire region of Illinois has been thirsting for the certainty and predictability of a bipartisan, five-year Farm bill,” said Congresswoman Cheri Bustos. “Our economy needs a farm bill. I fought to move this process forward, and partisanship sadly stood in the way of a House version...It may not be perfect, but Senate Democrats and Republicans were able to come together to get a bill passed, and the House should do the same.”

The bill is considered a non-starter in the House.

For more news, visit www.agri-pulse.com.