WASHINGTON, Jan. 13, 2014 – Rep. George Miller, D-Calif., announced today that he will not seek a 21st term in November – adding to a growing list of House Democrats that have decided against running for re-election.

Miller is a senior Democrat who has chaired three committees during the past 40 years and is a principal author of major laws affecting America’s education system, labor and health policy, and the protection of natural resources.

Rep. Mike McIntyre, D-N.C., a farm bill conferee and one of Washington’s last Blue Dog Democrats, announced last week that he will not run for re-election next year. Rep. Carolyn McCarthy, D-N.Y., also has announced she is retiring this year.


For more news, go to www.agri-pulse.com.