WASHINGTON, Oct. 4, 2017 - Good luck to Colin Hayes, who has left his job as staff director for the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee. A panel spokeswoman says he’s pursuing an opportunity in the private sector but provided no other details. Committee Chair Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, said Brian Hughes, who’s been serving as deputy staff director, is taking Hayes’ place. A native Alaskan, Hughes has been with the committee since 2007, except for a brief stint as a speechwriter on the Romney-Ryan presidential campaign in 2012.

EPA chief Scott Pruitt has named New York State Assemblyman Pete Lopez as the regional administrator for EPA’s Region 2, which includes New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Lopez has served in the Assembly since 2007, representing a seven-county region including Mid-Hudson, Northern Catskills, Southern Tier, and Capital District. He is currently a member on the assembly’s Committee on Environmental Conservation and serves on the Task Force on Food, Farm and Nutrition Policy.

Dave Archambault has been voted out of office as chairman of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe. Archambault led the tribe’s losing battle to block the Dakota Access pipeline. Unofficial results in last week’s general tribal elections show he received only about 37 percent of the 1,710 votes cast. His opponent, Mike Faith, won 63 percent to become the tribe’s new chairman.

President Trump says he plans to nominate Diana Furchtgott-Roth to be an assistant secretary of transportation for research and technology. Furchtgott-Roth is senior fellow and director of Economics21 at the Manhattan Institute for Policy Research and an adjunct professor of economics at George Washington University. She previously served as chief economist at the Labor Department and chief of staff of the President’s Council of Economic Advisers.

Ken Adams was re-elected for a third straight term as president of the International Hydropower Association (IHA) at the organization’s board meeting in London. Adams is a consultant and former vice president of Manitoba Hydro with more than 40 years of industry experience. New board members include Moisés Machaca, executive director of Hydroelectric de Cahora Bassam (Mozambique), Evgeniy Tikhonov, strategy and development director for EuroSibEnergo JSC (Russia), Carbine Sohaila, group chief executive for Sarawak Energy (Malaysia), and Luiz Fernando Leone Viana, director general of Itapúa Binational (Brazil). 

Start your day with the Agri-Pulse Daily Harvest Email. Sign up for a four-week free trial by clicking here!