Del Norte County native Rose Tryon is the new president of the California Women for Agriculture. This step up in leadership comes after a decade of involvement with both CWA and its parent organization American Agri-Women (AAW). As president, Tryon wants to focus on connecting members with the California State Women's legislative caucus to help bridge the gap between the agriculture industry and our state legislators. She also plans to help educate urban neighbors about issues affecting agriculture, as well as continue to help CWA's mission to uplift women in agriculture. A retired District Attorney investigator, she currently resides in Paradise, California with her husband and two dogs and is working to rebuild her home after she lost it to the 2018 Camp Fire. Tryon joins 12 other women as part of the 2020 CWA Executive Team who are listed at 

Rose Tryon

Rose Tryon, President of California Women for Agriculture

Josh Rolph has left the California Farm Bureau Federation where he served as the director of federal policy division. Rolph has been with the organization for the past 11 years. He has started a new job with GovPredict as a senior account executive. Before joining CFBF, Rolph served as an associate director of the office of congressional relations at USDA.

Corinne Madison is also leaving the California Farm Bureau Federation where she worked the past three years as a legislative analyst. She has taken a new position with the United Dairy Families of California. Her last day at CFBF is Feb. 5.

Mark Heising has been tapped to serve as chairman-elect of the board of the Environmental Defense Fund. Heising is the founder and a managing director of Medley Partners, an investment firm based in San Francisco. Heising has served as a board member since 2011 and succeeds Carl Ferenbach, who has served as board chair since 2009. 

The University of California, Davis, has tapped professors Li Tian and Cameron Carter as co-directors of the new Cannabis & Hemp Research Center. Tian is a plant sciences professor known for her research with phytonutrients, plant-based chemicals that can prevent diseases and bring other health benefits. Carter has a background in schizophrenia and mental health research, and was director of the UC Davis Center for Neuroscience from 2009 to 2016 and is now the director of the UC Davis Behavioral Health Center of Excellence.

Tricia Kovacs has been appointed to serve as the deputy administrator of the Agricultural Marketing Service’s Transportation and Marketing program. Kovacs first joined AMS in 2016 as the local and regional food systems policy adviser. Before joining USDA, Kovacs managed regional market programs at the Washington State Department of Agriculture.

Andrew Jerome has joined the International Dairy Foods Association (IDFA) as director of external and member communications. Jerome joins IDFA from Michael Torrey Associates, where he served as a director. He provided policy, communications guidance, and representation to food companies, trade associations, farm groups, and universities. Before that, Jerome was previously the communications director for the National Farmers Union.

Michael Johnson has joined the staff of Sen. Tom Udall, D-N.M. as the new senior policy adviser covering the agriculture, public lands, animal welfare and environment portfolio. He takes the portfolio from Ken Rooney who left Udall’s office as a legislative assistant.

Chelsea Glynn has moved from legislative aide to legislative assistant for Rep. Pete Aguilar, D-Calif., covering the environmental protection, natural resources, and telecommunications portfolio.

Jess Wysocky has been promoted to a legislative aide covering the small business and immigration portfolio for Rep. Harley Rouda, D-Calif.

The Western Caucus has added three new individuals to its leadership team for 2020. Rep. Doug Lamborn, R-Colo., has been selected to serve as vice chairman for defense and veteran affairs. Rep. Garrett Graves, R-La., has been tapped to serve as vice chairman for oceans and ocean energy; and Rep. John Curtis, R-Utah, will be vice chairman for federal lands and new energy opportunity. You can access the complete membership page here.

For more news, go to