WASHINGTON, July 19, 2017 - President Trump has nominated Kevin McIntyre to lead the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. A Republican, McIntyre heads up the energy practice at Cleveland law firm Jones Day. FERC, which is supposed to have five commissioners, currently has only one sitting regulator, acting chair Cheryl LaFleur, a Democrat. Trump has previously nominated Republicans Neil Chatterjee and Robert Powelson. They are both awaiting Senate confirmation… The president also intends to tap Michael Dourson to be EPA’s assistant administrator for Toxic Substances. Dourson is a professor in the Risk Science Center at the University of Cincinnati, College of Medicine.  He also previously worked at EPA, earning the Arnold J. Lehman award from the Society of Toxicology and the International Achievement Award from the International Society of Regulatory Toxicology and Pharmacology. 

The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association has hired Jason Riederer as its senior legislative affairs manager. He joins NRECA from the staff of Rep. Mark Amodei, R-Nev., where he was legislative director.                         

David Friedman, the former interim head of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, has been named director of cars and product policy for Consumers Union, the policy arm of Consumer Reports that focuses on product testing and consumer advocacy. An engineer, Friedman most recently served at the Department of Energy, where he led a $2 billion R&D facility that accelerated efforts to transition to clean and renewable energy.

DTE Energy has named Robert Skaggs to its board of directors. For more than a decade, Skaggs has served as CEO for both the Columbia Pipeline Group Inc. and NiSource Inc., a Fortune 500 energy holding company engaged in natural gas and electric utilities and the gas storage and pipeline business.