Deputy U.S. Trade Representative for Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Industrial Competitiveness Jeffrey Gerrish will return to Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom's international trade group in August. He has served the Trump Administration for the past two years and worked on the Phase One China Trade Deal. Gerrish will join Skadden's CFIUS and National Security Group as a partner. 

Jeffrey Gerrish

Jeffrey Gerrish

The U.S. Trade Representative has named 10 panelists to serve on a roster that will decide State-to-State disputes under the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA). The panelists appointed are as follows: Julie Bédard, head of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP’s International Litigation and Arbitration Group for the Americas; Susan Braden, a judge on the U.S. Court of Federal Claims from 2003 to 2019 and currently a member of the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board; John Buckley Jr., senior counsel at Williams & Connolly LLP; E.F. Mano DeAyala, a partner at Buck Keenan LLP; Dennis Devaney, senior counsel in Clark Hill’s International Trade and Labor & Employment groups; Mark C. Hansen, co-founder of Kellogg, Hansen, Todd, Figel & Frederick, P.L.L.C.; Jean Kalicki, independent arbitrator specializing in international disputes, and previously a partner at Arnold & Porter LLP; Ann Ryan Robertson, an international partner at Locke Lord LLP; Koji Saito, a diplomat specializing in international trade at the Permanent Mission of Japan to the International Organizations in Geneva; and Stephen Vaughn, a partner at King & Spalding in the International Trade Practice Group.

The International Dairy Foods Association (IDFA) has promoted Danielle Quist to the position of vice president of regulatory affairs and counsel, and Donald Grady to the position of director of legislative affairs, effective July 1. Both Quist and Grady currently serve as integral subject matter experts on IDFA’s Scientific and Regulatory Affairs and Legislative Affairs teams. Quist joined IDFA two years ago after nearly 14 years at the American Farm Bureau Federation, most recently as senior counsel for public policy. Grady joined IDFA in 2018 after serving as a legislative assistant for Rep. Jim Costa, D-Calif.

The American Council on Renewable Energy (ACORE) has brought on Tracy Warren as the new director of the Macro Grid Initiative, a joint effort between ACORE and Americans for a Clean Energy Grid to build support for expanding and upgrading the nation’s transmission network. Warren brings over 20 years of communications and advocacy experience in the public policy arena and electric utility industry, most recently serving as the external communications lead for the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association.

Michael O’Gorman, founder and executive director of the Farmer Veteran Coalition, is stepping down from the helm  and will be replaced by Jeanette Lombardo. Lombardo grew up in Erie, Pa. on a family dairy farm and was raised by an Air Force veteran father. Early in her career, she worked in agricultural banking before becoming co-founder and chief strategic officer for Global Water Innovations Inc. She also serves as the principal for California Food and Agribusiness Advocates. She is the past president of American Agri-Women.

Jennifer Spurgat now serves as the market development manager for BASF Agricultural Solutions Seed U.S. Spurgat previously worked in the market acceptance department for North America. Spurgat also has nine years of experience working for Bayer CropScience. 

Farm Credit of the Virginias (FCV) has tapped former chief credit officer, Brad Cornelius, as the new chief executive officer, effective July 15. Cornelius began his career with the Farm Credit System at AgGeorgia Farm Credit where he served as a loan officer, branch manager, and then regional lending manager. Cornelius most recently served as CEO of Cape Fear Farm Credit in Fayetteville, N.C., before joining the FCV senior leadership team last June.

Legacy Seed Companies has selected Colin Steen as its new chief executive officer. His first day was on Monday. Steen brings over 25 years of experience in agribusiness, most recently serving as the managing director for Syngenta Ventures. Before that, he had roles managing the Golden Harvest corn and soybean business in the Midwest and running the NK Seeds business for Syngenta. He succeeds Bruce Ceranske, who will remain active on the board as vice chairman. 

Colin Steen

Colin Steen

Katelynn Thorpe now serves as the communications director for Rep. Rosa DeLauro, D-Conn. She previously was the communications director for Rep. Nita Lowey, D-N.Y.

Jacqui Kappler has added the title of deputy chief of staff for the office of Rep. Hank Johnson, D-Ga. Kappler also covers appropriations, commerce, energy, and telecommunications issues.

Chelsea Grey now serves as the senior legislative assistant for Rep. Hank Johnson, D-Ga. She covers the portfolio for agriculture and food, animal welfare, appropriations, environmental protection, natural resources, small business, and transportation.

Ann Jorgensen is one of four who will be inducted to the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame, state leaders announced. The Iowa farmer is a former chairwoman and board member of the Farm Credit Administration and also worked at USDA. She previously served on many Iowa boards and commissions, including the Iowa Board of Regents, which is responsible for the state’s three universities. 

Agri-Pulse’s Jason Lutz has been promoted to sales and marketing manager for the company, based in Camdenton, Mo. Lutz joined the Agri-Pulse team in 2012 and has been involved in virtually all areas of the business. In his new role, Lutz will be responsible for managing the sales team and developing new ways to target the key influencers in food and agriculture. One of his first assignments will be hiring a new sales representative based in California to support the growing Agri-Pulse West coverage. To read more, click here.

For more news, go to